St Mary’s Catholic Primary School, Cross Street, Chesterfield, S40 4ST

01246 232170

St Mary's Catholic Primary School

Let Your Light Shine

Meet the Governing Body

Name Appointment Date Type Position Responsibility/Class
Nicola Brown 01/09/18 Headteacher
Iain Findlay 16/11/18 – 15/11/22 Parent English / Phonics/ Modern Foreign Languages/ Science/ Design Technology
Helen Loizou 01/09/19 –30/07/23  Foundation Vice Chair

Safeguarding, Early Help and Looked After Children

Y3 Class Governor

Laura Hewitt 01/04/22 – 31/03/26 Parent

Y6 Class Governor

Collette McAteer 12/07/21-11/07/25  Foundation

Catholic Life /RE/ Collective worship

Anti Bullying/Wellbeing 

Y4 Class Governor

Stefan Zasada  16/09/20 - 15/09/24 Foundation

Art and Music

Y5 Class Governor

Mark Rutherford 18/09/19 –17/09/23  Co-opt


Y2 Class Governor

Marie Backhouse Foundation

Early Years

F2 Class Governor

Stephen Miller 12/09/18 – 11/09/22 Foundation Computing/Website/ GDPR/ PE and Sports Premium
Matthew Kane 12/09/18 – 11/09/22 Foundation History and Geography
Mario Santoro 31/07/19 – 30/07/23 Foundation Chair
Brendan King 11/09/19 – 10/09/23 Foundation

Heath and Safety

Y1 Class Governor

Instrument of Governors
LA = 1
Headteacher = 1
Staff = 1
Parent = 2
Foundation = 8
Associate = 1
Co-opt = 1


Business Interests
Forms completed annually for declaration of business interests. 


The Listed governors were appointed as follows:

Foundation Governors appointed by the Diocese of Hallam.

Local Authority Governors appointed by the Local Authority.

Parent Governors appointed following a parents election.

Associate Governors appointed by the Governing Body.

All Governors other than the Associate Governors have voting rights.


Governor Attendance at Meetings

Click here for governors' attendance